• Sat. Mar 2nd, 2024

Seven-member Indian squad for inaugural ISSF President’s Cup Competitions started yesterday in Wroclaw, Poland

In their first international engagement post the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, a seven-member Indian squad is set to compete in the inaugural International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) President’s Cup Rifle/Pistol in Wroclaw, Poland, from  November 04-09, 2021. Top 12 athletes in individual Rifle and Pistol events according to the 2021 World Ranking post the Games, are participating in the event where individual winners will be awarded the Golden Target, the Best Athlete of the Year title.
Saurabh Chaudhary, Abhishek Verma, Yashaswini Deswal, Manu Bhaker, Rahi Sarnobat, Chinki Yadav and Anjum Moudgil make up the Indian contingent under the tutelage of National coaches Samaresh Jung and Deepali Deshpande. Aishwary Tomar was also invited but the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) has surrendered his invitation to the ISSF, after he pulled out on fitness grounds on advice of his coach.

 Friday, November 05, 2021, is when the first two finals- the 10M Air Rifle Mixed Team and 10M Air Pistol Mixed Team, are scheduled.
As far as individual events are concerned, Saurabh Chaudhary and Abhishek Verma will represent India in the Men’s 10M Air Pistol while Manu Bhaker and Yashaswini Deswal will compete in the corresponding Women’s event. Anjum Moudgil will be seen in action in the Women’s 50M Rifle 3 Positions competition.
In the Women’s 25M Pistol, India will have three competitors in Rahi Sarnobat, Manu Bhaker and Chinki Yadav. The last named made it as replacement for one of the top 12 ranked Shooters surrendering their invite for the event.
The inaugural ISSF President’s Cup is a rechristened version of the ISSF World Cup Finals. The ISSF President’s Cup Shotgun was held last month in Larnaca, Cyprus and had no Indian participation.
There is also substantial prize money awaiting the winners along with accolades. Individual winners will receive $15,000, while second place winners will receive $12,000 as prize money. Third place winners will also get enriched by $10,000 and every position thereafter right up to the 12thspot will receive cash awards. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com