• Sat. May 21st, 2022

New MLAs in Manipur to be sworn in today, Next CM not yet confirmed, present CM N.Biren Singh and MLA Biswajit Singh is in CM race

The recently concluded Manipur Legislative Assembly Elections 2022 had Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as the winner, with 32/60 seats, securing an absolute majority for the saffron party. But BJP not yet confirmed the name of CM in Manipur. The term of the outgoing assembly is due to expire on March 19.

Today, the new MLAs would be sworn in as members of the legislative assembly. They would be administered the oath of office and secrecy by senior BJP MLA Sorokhaibam Rajen Singh. Yesterday, he was sworn in as the protem speaker of the assembly.

“Held a review meeting to assess the reason for losing in the seats which BJP could not win in the recent assembly election. Smt A Sharda Devi president BJP Manipur & Abhay Giri GS (Org) BJP Manipur were also present in the meeting.”, reads a tweet by Singh yesterday.

The BJP went solo this time, and had campaigned strong for the above mentioned elections. Senior BJP leaders took to door-to-door campaign across the Northeastern state, in support of party candidates.

Also, CM Nongthombam Biren Singh is seen to have a strong probability of being the next Chief Minister, as per speculations. Singh is a footballer turned politician, and maintains a good relation with BJP central leadership.  But report from Manipur BJP sources MLA Biswajit Singh is also in CM race.

Earlier on Friday CM N. Biren Singh submitted his resignation letter as Chief Minister to Governor La Ganesan. Govornor of Manipur asked him to continue in his office until the new government takes charge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *