• Sun. May 26th, 2024

Chairperson, Vice-chairman, ward commissioners of Jamugurihat Municipal Board take oath

The first meeting of Jamugurihat Municipal Board (JMB) was held today in the conference hall of the Deputy Commissioner’s office here today in the presence of Sootea MLA Padma Hazarika and Deputy Commissioner Deba Kumar Mishra. The Deputy Commissioner administered the oath to the MLA who is also the ex officio member of JMB and also to the 10 newly-elected ward commissioners of the first ever Jamugurihat Municipal Board.

The first Chairperson and vice-chairperson of JMB were also elected during the course of today’s meeting. It may be noted that Pallabita Sarmah Mahanta and Anjan Kalita were unanimously elected as Chairperson and vice-chairperson respectively of Jamugurihat MB.

Speaking on the occasion, MLA Padma Hazarika thanked the Government of Assam for forming the Jamugurihat MB and exhorted the newly-elected members to work sincerely and dedicatedly for the welfare of the people of Jamugurihat. Distributing a diary and a pen as gifts to all the members he asked them to note down the everyday happenings in their respective wards and maintain a proper record of all works. He also appealed to the ward commissioners to ensure all eligible beneficiaries in their respective wards receive the benefits of each and every scheme of the Government.

The Deputy Commissioner in his speech asked all the ward commissioners to work for the welfare of the people and make a difference in the lives of the poor and the needy.

Addl Deputy Commissioner Dyotiva Bora, Circle Officer Akashdeep Kakoty, and other officials were present in today’s meeting.

The oath taking ceremonies of Tezpur, Dhekiajuli and Rangapara MBs are slated to take place on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com