• Thu. Jun 8th, 2023

Two former BJP defeated present BJP candidates in West Bengal by poll

Two former BJP Babul Supriyo and Satrughna Singha defeated BJP candidates in West Bengal by poll. The result was declared on Saturday.

Babul Supriyo wins Ballygunge assembly seat defeated CPI(M)’s Saira Shah Halim more than 20,228 votes. BJP candidate. He was elected Member of Parliament from Asansol in the 16th and 17th Lok Sabha and also served as the Minister of State for Environment, Forest and Climate Change, in the Union Council of Ministers. He officially resign from BJP on 19th October 2021.

The Trinamul Congress candidate  Shatrughan Sinha  won the Asansol Lok Sabha constituency defeated BJP candidate Agnimitra Paul by a margin of 30,3209 votes. For the first time since the party’s formation Trinamul Congress in 1998 party won Asansol Lok Sabha constituency .

76 year old Shatrughan Sinha first started politics in BJP. He was a Union Cabinet Minister of Health and Family Welfare and Shipping in the Bajpayee government. He served as the party’s star campaigner and was also a union minister in Vajpayee’s cabinet.Sinha quit the BJP before the 2019 Lok Sabha polls and joined the Congress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *