• Tue. Apr 16th, 2024

Fifty years of Mizoram Legislative Assembly: Lookback

Mizoram is a comparatively small state in the Northeast. It is surrounded by Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Manipur, Nagaland, Tripura and Sikkim. Mizoram is culturally and naturally rich as well.

As Mizoram Legislative Assembly completes fifty years of glorious existence, we try to look back at the rich legacy over the five decades of service by respective.

The first session held on 10 May 1972, marked the beginning of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly, which initially had 30 elected and 3 nominated seats.

The first Assembly election was won by the Mizo Union under the leadership of Pu Ch. Chhunga and was later merged with the Indian National Congress. Pu H. Thansanga, the first Speaker of Mizoram Legislative Assembly vacated his office and Pu Vaivenga became the Speaker of Mizoram Legislative Assembly. This is according to the dada available on the website of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly.

Election to the second Assembly was held in 1978 in which People’s Conference led by Brig.T. Sailo had won with an absolute majority, adds the website. However, the Ministry broke down after 5 months. The same party came into power in the next election and the incumbent Speaker Pu Thangridema was succeeded by Pu Kenneth Chawngliana.

Meanwhile, The fourth Assembly was constituted in 1984, and the Indian National Congress under the leadership of Pu Lal Thanhawla won the election. Pu H. Thansanga again assumed the office of the Speaker. This is certainly noteworthy.

However, with the implementation of the Peace Accord between the Mizo National Front (MNF) and the Government of India, Pu Lal Thanhawla vacated Chief Ministership to make place for Pu Laldenga, President of MNF who became the Chief Minister for a period of 6 months. These facts are strong.

Team NE India Broadcast extends wishes on the above-mentioned occasion. It is hopeful that Mizoram Legislative Assembly shall continue to serve the state as always.

NE India Broadcast

NE India Broadcast is a news and media platform, with focus on the Northeastern states comprising of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland, Tripura, Sikkim and Eastern Region West Bengal, Jharkhand, Odisha. You can email us at : neindiabroadcast2021@gmail.com or office@neindiabroadcast.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com