• Thu. Dec 1st, 2022

Defence Ministry approves establishment of wayside amenities ‘BRO Cafes’ on 75 border roads in 12 States and UTs

Ministry of Defence (MoD) has approved setting up of wayside amenities at 75 locations in 12 States and Union Territories on different sections of roads with Border Roads Organisation (BRO). These are intended to provide basic amenities & comfort to the tourists and lead to boosting of economic activities in border areas, besides generating employment for the local people. These wayside amenities will be branded as ‘BRO Cafes’.

 The BRO has its reach in the remotest border areas and besides addressing strategic needs, it has been instrumental in socio-economic upliftment of the Northern and Eastern borders. This has resulted in increased tourist influx in these scenic locations, hitherto inaccessible. In order to provide conducive and comfortable transit of tourists on these roads located at harsh climatic and geographical conditions, the need to establish multi-utility wayside amenities along the major tourist circuits in these regions was recognised. Since the inaccessibility and remoteness of these roads preclude widespread commercial deployments, the BRO, by virtue of its presence, took it upon itself to open such facilities at remote places.

The scheme provides for development and operation of wayside amenities in public private partnership mode with agencies, on license basis, which will design, build & operate the facility as per guidelines of BRO. Amenities like parking for two and four wheelers, food plaza/ restaurant, separate rest rooms for men, women and differently abled, first aid facilities/MI Rooms etc. are proposed to be provided. Selection of licencees will be done through a competitive process.

The terms of the agreement will be for 15 years which may be further extended for a period up to five years. The location of 75 BRO Cafes is as under:

S NoStateRoads
1Arunachal PradeshDaporijoBameKoloriangPasighatMenchuka
MoyingThumbinYinkiongTippiDurga Mandir
Km 79TengaRama CampSelaTopTawang
2AssamTezpurTownBP Tinali   
3Himachal PradeshKm 8.5Km .5Km 11.8SissuManali
4Jammu & KashmirTeePeeTragbalHussaingaonKm 95Km 117.90
Km 58GalharSiotBathuniBudhal
6ManipurKm 0    
9 Rajasthan Tanot DettKm 44.40Sadhuwali Vill. BirdhwalArjansar
10SikkimKupup Dett    
11UttarakhandDarkotKm 61Km 57.44BhaironghatiBirahi
GwaldhamPandukeshwarManera bypassNagniKamand
Majri grant    
12West BengalMelli 

NE India Broadcast

NE India Broadcast is a news and media platform, with focus on the Northeastern states comprising of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland, Tripura, Sikkim and Eastern Region West Bengal, Jharkhand, Odisha. To contribute an article to NE India Broadcast please write to : neindiabroadcast2021@gmail.com or office@neindiabroadcast.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *