• Mon. Dec 4th, 2023

Election meeting held at Margherita

ByMithun Baruah

Jul 31, 2022 #Margherita

A press conference was convened on saturday at the conference hall of Sub-divisional officer (Civil), Margherita by Palash Rajkumar Ahom,ADC(i/c) Margherita and District Election Officer(DEO) of 124-Margherita constituency.
The conference was organized regarding the introduction of new voter registration forms, voluntary Aadhaar linkage of the existing electors and authentication of Electoral rolls data.

The district election officer briefed the media about the amendments in the RP Act 1950 by the Ministry of Law & Justice on recommendations of the Election Commission of India. According to the changes, there will be four qualifying dates as eligibility for new electors i.e. 1st January, 1st April, 1st July and 1st October. Along with that, above 17 years will be able to apply in advance for enrolling themselves in the Voter’s list and the Electoral Roll will be updated every quarter.

Palash Rajkumar Ahom also mentioned that the new forms for registration will be more user-friendly and single form-8 will be devised for correction of entries also the electors can voluntarily link their Aadhar with their Voter Cards through online applications such as ERONET, GARUDA, NVSP,VHA.

Aditi Neog, Election officer of Margherita also assured that as per provision under Section 37 of the Aadhar (Targeted Delivery of Financial and other Subsidies, Benefits and Services) Act, 2016 that the Aadhar numbers will not be made public under any conditions and the details will be removed or masked by the authorities in the Elector’s Photo Identification Cards (EPIC) and mentioned about other changes such as polling station rationalization, deleting repeat/multiple entries from Electoral Roll, field verifications and super checking for Healthy Electoral Roll and participative process-Involving BLAs. However, it is to be mentioned that the Annual Summary Revision will be done with reference to 1st January 2023 so that Electoral Rolls are published before National Voter’s Day.

Aditi Neog also informed the media that the program of rolling out of new electoral registration forms and collection of Aadhar data and authentication of Electoral Rolls data will be formally launched on 1st August 2022 by the district election officer.

Subsequently, Palash Rajkumar Ahom, DEO sought full co-operation from the media fraternity in disseminating the information, so that no public is unaware of such developments and each eligible individual exercises their right to vote.

Apart from the media persons of Margherita, the meeting was also attended by master trainers Latumoni Gogoi and Dilip Kumar Chutia, other administrative officials and staff of the election branch, Margherita.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com