• Tue. Sep 27th, 2022

Former CM Biplab to be the BJP nominated candidate for upcoming RS by-poll in Tripura

The Bharatiya Janata Party has nominated former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb as its candidate for the upcoming by-election to be held on September 22 in a single Rajya Sabha seat of Tripura. On the other hand, the main opposition party of the state, CPM has nominated former finance minister Bhanulal Saha as their candidate.

Notably, in April last year the current Chief Minister of the state, Dr. Manik Saha, won from Tripura’s only Rajya Sabha seat as a BJP nominated candidate. But soon after that, BJP appointed Manik Saha as Chief Minister of the state by replacing Biplab Kumar Deb. Later, Manik Saha won the by-election from Town Bordowali seat. Because of which, when he resigned from the Rajya Sabha membership, this seat became vacant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *