• Mon. Jun 17th, 2024

Rameswar Teli inaugurates Inter-Unit Tournament 2022-23 of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board in Guwahati

The Inter-Unit tournament 2022-23 of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board(PSPB) was inaugurated by Shri Rameswar Teli, Minister of State for Petroleum & Natural Gas and Labour & Employment at NFR Stadium, Maligaon Guwahati today. PSPB under the aegis of the Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas shall be holding its 05-day Inter-Unit tournament from 16th to 20th November in Guwahati. For the first time, five games together have been organized by PSPB where ONGC, BPCL, MNGL, OIL & NRL  are hosting Badminton, Volleyball, Basketball, Carrom & Football at Guwahati.

Union Minister while delivering his speech said that, this is first time in the history  of PSPB as well as in Assam that 5 Tournaments are being held at the same time.

Highlighting PSPB’s role in promoting sports, the Minister said that it has many national and international players in the Indian teams in both Men and Women like, Hockey, Badminton, Table Tennis Chess, Carrom & Archery. Oil & gas PSUs under Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas have always taken an active and lead role in the promotion of sports in the country. Shri Teli appreciated the efforts by PSPB for conducting this tournament. Mentioning the achievement of PSPB Players in International Scenario the Minister also said that under the leadership of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi the country is witnessing a changing scenario in the field of sports and players are doing exceedingly well in sports events like Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, etc. He also said that girls are also doing equally well in various sports disciplines.

Many National and International players in the field of Badminton, Volleyball, Basketball, Football & Carrom were present in today’s inaugural ceremony. The renowned players like Lakshay Sen (Badminton), HS Prannoy (Badminton), Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (Badminton), B Sai Praneet (Badminton), Saurav Verma (Badminton), Ashwini Ponappa (Badminton), P Kashyap (Badminton), Sikki Reddy (Badminton), Sameer Verma (Badminton), Kajal Kumari (Carrom), K Srinivas (Carrom), Rashmi Kumari (Carrom), Athin GS (Volleyball), Jayrom Vinit (Volleyball), Vishesh Bhriguvanshi (Basketball), Atanu Das (Archery), Jyothi Surekha (Archery) and Shiva Thapa (Boxing) attended the ceremony. All the players were felicitated by MoS Shri Rameswar Teli in today’s programme.

Competitions in five sporting disciplines Football, Badminton, Volleyball, Basketball and Carrom will be held simultaneously during the tournament.

Sl Discipline Host. Org. Venue in Guwahati Dates
Football NRL Nehru Stadium 16 – 20 Nov 2022
Badminton ONGC Nehru Stadium 16 – 20 Nov 2022
Volleyball BPCL North East Frontier Railway (Hall) 16 – 20 Nov 2022
Basketball MNGL North East Frontier Railway (Hall) 16 – 20

Nov 2022

Carrom OIL Narangi, Oil India Township
  1. – 20 Nov 2022

Over 600 International and National Players will take part in this event. The public can watch the competitions on all days at the designated venues free of cost.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com