• Sat. Jul 13th, 2024

13 Maoists surrender in Assam 

Nine cadres of the Communist Party of India (Maoist) surrendered before the Dibrugarh police on Thursday night. Dibrugarh SP Shwetank Mishra said that they were involved in Maoist activities since 2017.

The Maoist cadres were identified as Ajoy Sabor, Bharat Tanti, Amit Mura, Anil Singh Rowtia, Mohan Murari, Ajit Urang, Dipen Manki, Bipul Tanti and Mintu Bhowmij. Among them Bharat Tanti and Bipul Tanti belonged to Jorhat district while the rest of them hailed from Dibrugarh. All of them belonged to the tea garden community. None of them deposited any arms and ammunitions.
“The individuals approached the police directly expressing their intention to surrender. During verification we came to know that they had connection with Maoist elements. They were involved in some Maoist activities since 2017. They have not been arrested. We will facilitate their return to the mainstream,” Dibrugarh SP Shwetank Mishra on Friday said.
Meanwhile Special DGP (Law and Order) GP Singh in a tweet mentioned that 13 Maoists cadres joined the mainstream in Dibrugarh and Cachar districts.
“13 cadres of proscribed Communist Party of India (Maoist) joined mainstream today – leaving the path of violence behind – at Dibrugarh & Cachar in Assam. They’re associates of CPI-M leader Aru Kumar Bhattacharjee alias Kanchan da arrested earlier this year,” Singh tweeted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com