• Sun. Jun 16th, 2024

One more senior student arrested in Dibrugarh University ragging case

Dibrugarh police on Thursday arrested one more student of Dibrugarh University in connection with the Anand Sharma ragging incident of Dibrugarh University. Dibyajyoti Gogoi, a 3rd semester student of Applied Geology whose name appear in the FIR filed by the victim’s mother and who has been absconding since the ragging incident was arrested by the police from the premises of the chief judicial magistrate court where he had gone to surrender. With his arrest the total number of arrests have gone up to five in the Dibrugarh University ragging incident. The senior students named in the ragging case have been booked under section 120B (criminal conspiracy), 341 (wrongful restraint), 307 (abetment of suicide) and 143 (unlawful assembly) of the IPC in a case registered at the Dibrugarh police station. 
“Five students named in the FIR have so far been arrested in the case. An ex-student of Dibrugarh University Rahul Chetry who has been named in the case is absconding. Efforts are on to nab him,” Dibrugarh Additional SP (Headquarters) Bitul Chetia said.
The police on Wednesday evening had taken the statement of the wardens of Dibrugarh University’s PNGB hostel where the ragging incident had taken place.
Meanwhile a magisterial enquiry into the Dibrugarh University ragging case is being conducted by Additional Deputy Commissioner (ADC) Sanghamitra Baruah. The deposition of witnesses is being taken at the deputy commissioner’s office from November 30 which will continue till December 5 from 11am to 4pm everyday.
Dibrugarh University Vice Chancellor Jiten Hazarika had already constituted a 5 -member committee on Wednesday to investigate the possibility of lapses/ deficiency in dealing with matters of ragging in the University campus and prevention during the current academic session (2022-2023) at any level. Headed by retired principal of Sibsagar Commerce College Kartik Chandra Dutta as chairman, the Commitee has Prof. PK Barua, Chairperson of Centre for Tea & Agro Studies, Dibrugarh University, Dipak Kumar Sarmah, retired principal of Kakojan College,  Bijoy Krishna Pachani, Executive Council Member, Dibrugarh University as members while Dhwajen Sonowal, Estate Officer, Dibrugarh University has been named the Convener.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com