• Mon. Jul 15th, 2024

Northeast Political Battle 2023: 81% votes cast up to 4PM, CPI(M), Congress, Tipra Motha and BJP in fight

Asper reports from State Election Commission of Tripura recorded 81.10% of votes were cast today. Large numbers of voters came out and casted their votes in the morning.

Total of 259 candidates contested today’s Assembly Election.

In the main contest, the ruling BJP and its alliance partner Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) Left-Congress alliance and TIPRA Motha.

The BJP is contesting in 55 seats, IPFT in 5 constituencies. The Tipra Motha has candidates in 42 seats. The CPI(M) will contest in 47 seats while its alliance partner Congress is fighting in 13 constituencies.

Chief Minister Manik Saha, Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma, union minister Pratima Bhowmik, CPIM leader and former Lok Sabha MP Jitendra Choudhury and Congress leader Birajit Singha and Congress MLA Sudip Roy Barman among the strong candidates of this election.

Former Chief Minister of Tripura Manik Sarkar will not contest this election.

The counting of votes will be held on March 2.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com