• Thu. Feb 22nd, 2024

Northeast Political Battle 2023: Voting begins in Nagaland and Meghalaya

The polling of two northeastern states Nagaland and Meghalaya begins today morning.

The voters of two states will decide who will go to from next Government in both states.

Over 13 lakh voters in Nagaland will decide the fate of 183 candidates while 21.61 lakh voters in Meghalaya will decide on 369 candidates.

The BJP of Nagaland has already opened an account. The BJP candidate Kazheto Kinimi won from the Akuluto seat uncontested.

In Nagaland, the main contest is going to be between the ruling alliance of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and the BJP, NPF, and  Congress.

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Deputy Chief Minister Yanthungo Patton, BJP Nagaland chief Temjen Imna Along, and former Chief Minister TR Zeliang are among the top consistent in Nagaland.

In Meghalaya will witness a multi-cornered contest. The main contest is going to the ruling party NPP, BJP, Congress, UDP and TMC.

In 2018 the NPP formed a government in support of the BJP, UDP, and PDF. The Trinamul Congress has become the largest party after former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma and several congress MLAs who left Congress and joined TMC.

Chief Minister Conrad Sangma, BJP leader Bernard N Marak, NPP leader James Sangma, former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma and UDP leader Metbah Lyngdoh is among the top candidates in Meghalaya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com