• Tue. Apr 16th, 2024

Assam: Rahul Gandhi Disqualification Row Three MLA Akhil Gogoi, Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha and Jakir Hussain Sikdar Suspended from Assembly

On Wednesday the Assam Assembly witnessed  a ruckus over the disqualification of former Congress President Rahul Gandhi as a Lok Sabha MP.

Three MLA Two from Congress Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha, Jakir Hussain Sikdar and Rajyor Dol MLA Akhil Gogoi suspended from Assembly on Wednesday.

“We want to send a resolution to the President of India requesting her to uphold the Constitution,” opposition  leader Debabrata Saikia informed Media.

Replying to the motion, Assam Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma said, “It’s unprecedented that we’re expressing opinions on a judicial matter here. I know that a decision was taken at Congress Legislature Party last night to create noise here.”

As opposition members shouted slogans, speaker Biswajit Daimary first adjourned the House for 15 minutes and again for 20 minutes.

The Surat court on Thursday sentenced the Congress leader to two years in jail in a defamation case, filed on a complaint by BJP MLA Purnesh Modi for his alleged remark.

On Saturday Lok Sabha Speaker disqualified Rahul Gandhi as Lok Sabha MP after conviction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com