• Wed. Apr 17th, 2024

Mizoram along with the rest of the country, observed the 73rd Independence Day

Mizoram, along with the rest of the country, observed the 73rd Independence Day.

The 77th India Independence Day, 2023 is successfully celebrated in Aizawl Lammual ground. The Chief Minister  Zoramthanga graced the function as Chief Guest and unfurled the national Flag.

On this momentous occasion convey his warm greetings and felicitations to the people of Mizoram, to all countrymen and to all Indians across the world. He also asked recall with gratitude and reverence, the selfless service and sacrifice of the great leaders of our Freedom Movement and the countless contribution of innumerable ordinary men and women, many of whom gave their lives, to end more than 200 years of colonial servitude.

On that occasion, CM also saluted the valour and commitment of our Mizo warrior-patriots and pay homage to everyone who contributed to Free India.

The Chief Minister Zoramthanga also stated that Mizoram, along with the rest of the nation, is on a steady path of progress. In the last four and half years, we faced many challenges, but with the unwavering support and strong cooperation from all sections of the society, we have been able to overcome most hurdles. Despite the crippling effects of the pandemic on all sectors, we have strived hard to make notable achievements to bring favourable changes in the lives of our people.

As we are all aware, it is indeed a matter of great pride and honour that our country is currently holding the Presidency of the prestigious G-20 and to make India’s Presidency a stellar success, various meetings and events are being organised in different cities during this year the Chief Minister Zoramthanga informed.

The Chief Minister also said Mizoram was privileged to host a G-20, B-20 (Business-20) Conference on 2nd March, 2023 themed – ‘India Initiatives in the North East – Conference on opportunities for multilateral business partnerships in Urban Planning, Infrastructure, Bamboo, Startups, Skill Development, Nursing and Paramedics’, where delegates from over 17 countries participated. We are hopeful that this Conference will help foster and create economic partnerships that will enhance Mizoram’s progress

Meanwhile, the entire country has been deeply pained by the violent ethnic conflict which erupted in our neighbouring state of Manipur on 4th May, 2023. The series of unfortunate and deplorable incidents which have unfolded since then, have deeply aggrieved the entire Mizo society. Since the very start of the political and ethnic turmoil in our immediate neighbourhood, the State Government has kept a close watch and has taken a number of steps for the safety and security of Mizos who were stuck in Imphal, particularly students of various disciplines. The State Government also took up relief and rehabilitation measures immediately for the internally displaced from Manipur, who have sought shelter in our state.

The State Government spent more than Rs. 36 lakh to airlift and evacuate 264 residents of Mizoram, who were still residing in Imphal in the initial days of the violence. According to official records, about 12,509 internally displaced persons since then have arrived in Mizoram (as on 18.07.2023). Relief camps have been set up in Aizawl and some districts to house the displaced people. More than 2388.50 quintals of foodgrain has been distributed to those affected. It is heartening to witness how the civil society, NGOs, church bodies and individuals have contributed immensely both in cash and in kind. The State Government has allocated Rs. 5 crore for their relief and rehabilitation. Besides, we have requested the Central Government to sanction at least Rs. 10 crore for providing bare necessities to these displaced people from Manipur who are seeking refuge in Mizoram.

At the Independence Day Celebration, the following Medals/Awards were distributed by the Chief Minister :

Various felicitations/Awards were given to the following government servants on this Day with recipients as follows:

Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation, 2023 is awarded to Sub Inspector Lalnuntluanga, Lunglei Police Station.

President’s Police Medal for Distinguised Service:

Pu R. Vanlalduata, MPS, Assistant CO, 1st Bn. MAP

Police Medal for Meritorious Service:

1) Pu Lalhuliana Fanai, IPS, DIGP CID, Mizoram

2) Pu H. Lalduata, MPS, Dy. SP, Security

3) Pu R. Lalrumliana, ADM/Inspector, 2nd Bn MAP

Governor’s Gold Medal:

1) Zothantluangi Chenhrang, Sub-Inspector, Commissionerate of Excise & narcotics, Aizawl

2) C. Ramnunmawii, Inspector, Lunglei, DEF

3) Pu H. Vanlalthanga, Inspector, Champhai DEF

4) R.L.H Dingzela, Sub-Inspector, Security

5) Pradip Kumar barman, Havildar, PTS, Thenzawl

6) F. Zohmangaiha, Havildar, PTS, Thenzawl.

Governor’s Silver Medal

1) Sakhawthanga ralte, Constable, Assistant Commissioner of Excise & Narcotics, Aizawl.

2) Lalrinliani, Constable, Commissionerate of Excise & Narcotics, Aizawl

3) Rozamliani Sailo, Sub-Inspector (M), MPRO

4) K. Lalmuanpuia, Sub-Inspector, Security.

5) H. Lalthlanfela, Asst. Sub-Inspector, CID (SB)

6) F. Lalchhuankima, Head Constable, Serchhip, DEF

7) Sahendra Paswan, Hon. Head Constable, Traffic

8) Rajesh Thapa, Havildar, 4th IR BN.

9) PC Lalthawhpuia, Constable, 4th IR Bn.

State Awards to Teachers, 2023

1) Lalnunhluna, Lecturer, Govt. Mizo Higher Secondary School, Aizawl, Aizawl District

2) F. Lalhmangaihthanga, Headmaster, Govt. High School, Lunglei, Lunglei District.

3) Lalthianghlima, Headmaster, Govt. Middle School-I, Dinthar, Aizawl District, Aizawl.

4) Lalengliana Chawnghlut, Headmaster, Govt. P/S-II, East Lungdar, Serchhip District.

Parade Contingents were also given the following awards as follows:

1)Parade Commander: Pu Rishi Kumar, IPS

2)Asst. parade Commander: Pu Tikam Singh Verma, IPS

Armed Contingent –

1st Prize – 2nd AR

2nd Prize – 5th IR Bn

3rd Prize – 225 Bn. CRPF

Unarmed Contingent –

1st Prize – 1st BN MAP English Medium School Bharat Scout & Guide

2nd Prize – No 1 Platoon 1st Mizoram Bn. NCC

3rd Prize – No 1 Platoon 20 Mizoram Bn. NCC

School Contingent –

1st Prize – Government Mizo High School

2nd Prize – Government J.L Higher Secondary School

3rd Prize – St. Paul’s Higher Secondary School

Band Parties Participation Prizes–

1) 2 Assam Rifles Pipe Band

2) 1st Bn. MAP Brass Band

3)  3rd MAP Pipe Band

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com