• Sun. Apr 14th, 2024

ICC World Cup: New Zealand defeated England 9 Wickets

New Zealand defeated England 9 Wickets  in the first match of ICC World Cup 2023 at Narendra Modi Stadium Ahmedabad. These two sides competed against one another in the 2019 ICC World Cup final, which resulted in a tie. England won the title.


New Zealand won the toss and decided to bowl first. Batting first England scored 282 for 9 in 50 overs. Joe Root’s scored  86-ball 77.

Matt Henry takes 3 wickets for 46 runs, left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner 2 wickets for  37 runs and part-time spinner Glenn Phillips 2 wickets for 17 runs

In reply, New Zealand scored 283 in loss of 1 wickets in 36.2 overs.

Devon Conway  scored 152 not out  and Rachin Ravindra scored 123 not out for New Zealand.



Team :

England : Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Jos Buttler (c, wk), Moeen Ali, Liam Livingstone, Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid and Mark Wood.

New Zealand : Devon Conway, Will Young, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (c, wk), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry and Trent Boult.


Photo Credit: ICC X





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com