• Tue. Jun 18th, 2024


Assam Rifles under the aegis HQ IGAR(S) organised a Wreath laying ceremony in the honour of JEM Lal Bahadur Viswakarma, Rifleman Jit Bahadur Thapa, Rifleman Sarbadhan Sunar and Rifleman T K C Varkey who made the ultimate sacrifice displaying unwavering courage and dedication to duty despite facing overwhelming odds in intense CI Op in Aizawl, Mizoram on 2 March, 1966.

On the night of 28 Feb 1966, MNF rebels launched coordinated attacks on various strategic locations in Mizoram, including the district treasury at Aizawl and camps of Police. Subsequently, the rebels targeted the Assam Rifles Battalion Headquarter at Aizawl, aiming to disrupt the peace and stability of the region.

A patrol party, commanded by Naib Subedar/Subedar Lal Bahadur Vishwakarma, was ambushed by MNF insurgents near a school wherein the patrol party faced heavy fire and suffered 4 casualties including Naib Subedar/Subedar Lal Bahadur Vishwakarma, Rifleman Jeet Bahadur Thapa, Rifleman Sarbadhan Sunar and Rifleman T K C Varkey.

The ceremony commenced with the wreath laying by Commandant of the Unit and a motivational speech to all ranks narrating the story of the Braveheart to infuse a renewed sense of pride and honour in the force.

A total strength of 5 Officers,14 Junior Commissioned Officers and 79 Other Ranks paid tributes by laying wreaths & honouring the martyrs with Guard of Honour.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com