• Mon. May 20th, 2024

Jagan V/S Naidu: Andhra Pradesh Gears Up for 2024 Assembly and Lok Sabha Elections

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has set the stage for the muchanticipated 18th Lok Sabha election in Andhra Pradesh, slated for May 13, 2024.

The state, once a stronghold for national parties, has witnessed a significant shift in political dynamics over the years, with regional parties emerging as formidable contenders for power. In the upcoming elections, Andhra Pradesh is poised to witness a fierce battle between various political alliances, each vying for supremacy.


The emergence of the I.N.D.I.A alliance, comprising a coalition of regional parties, adds a new dimension to the electoral landscape of the state. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the YSRCP made significant gains, securing 22 seats and signaling a shift in power from the traditional players.

The TDP, which had previously held sway in the state, saw its seat count dwindle to a mere three. This electoral upheaval set the stage for the upcoming 2024 elections, where the political landscape is characterized by intense competition and strategic alliances.

The BJP-TDP-JSP alliance, formed ahead of the 2024 elections, aims to challenge the dominance of the YSRCP.

With the BJP contesting six Lok Sabha seats and the TDP and JSP contesting 17 and two seats respectively, the alliance seeks to consolidate its position in the state.Meanwhile, the YSRCP, led by Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, is determined to maintain its stronghold in Andhra Pradesh.

The party has fielded candidates strategically, with prominent figures such as B Jhansi Laxmi and V Vijayasai Reddy vying for key Lok Sabha constituencies.One of the most intriguing contests of the 2024 elections is set to unfold in Kadapa, where YS Sharmila, the younger sister of Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, will lock horns with YS Avinash Reddy, fielded by the YSRCP. This sibling rivalry adds an intriguing dimension to the electoral battle in the state.

The Congress, led by the INDIA bloc, is also making its presence felt in Andhra Pradesh. Fielding candidates like M M Pallam Raju in Kakinada, the party aims to capitalize on discontentment with the ruling YSRCP and emerge as a viable alternative for voters.Prominent leaders like Kinjarapu Rammohan Naidu, Mathkumilli Bharath, and Pemmasani Chandrasekhar are among those who have secured TDP tickets, indicating the party’s resolve to reclaim lost ground in the state.

As the countdown to the elections begins, Andhra Pradesh finds itself at a crucial juncture in its political trajectory. With strategic alliances, family rivalries, and shifting loyalties shaping the electoral landscape, the stage is set for a riveting battle for power in the state. Come May 13, 2024, the people of Andhra Pradesh will have their say in shaping the future of their state and the nation at large.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com