• Sun. Jun 16th, 2024

How Mamata magic works in West Bengal again !

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) performed well in the 2024 Lok Sabha Election in West Bengal, defying exit poll predictions.

The party won 29 out of the 42 parliamentary constituencies, securing a significant majority.

This outcome was a blow to the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) target of securing 35 seats, which they failed to achieve, managing only 12 leading seats in West Bengal.

In West Bengal the BJP’s tally is likely to decline by six seats, with its vote share dropping by three percentage points to 37.

TMC’s Abhishek Banerjee,  Abhishek Banerjee, Kirti Azad, Shatrughan Sinha, Mahua Mitra among the prominent winners from West Bengal.

Dilip Ghosh, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Rekha Patra, Nitish Pramanik among the prominent losers .

Many reason works Mamata Banerjee led TMC’ s success in West Bengal :

Mamata Banerjee’s continued popularity and the TMC’s strong campaign focused on the party’s welfare policies and development work in the state. The TMC’s vote share increased to 47%, up from 43% in 2019.

The breakdown of seat-sharing talks between the TMC and Congress in January appeared to benefit Mamata Banerjee’s party, setting the stage for a three-cornered electoral contest and providing a strategic advantage to the TMC.

The BJP’s ambitious goal of securing 35 Lok Sabha seats in West Bengal fell flat due to internal divisions, organizational weaknesses, and the impact of the Left-Congress alliance. The BJP’s tally is likely to decline by six seats, with its vote share dropping by three percentage points to 37%.

The Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) did not resonate with voters as expected, instead prompting minorities who were previously undecided between the TMC and the Left-Congress alliance to consolidate behind the TMC.

Despite facing challenges like corruption allegations and internal conflicts, the TMC stood strong, even after opting to go solo post its withdrawal from the INDIA bloc in the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com