• Thu. Jul 18th, 2024

First BJP leader took oath as a Chief Minister of Odisha

Mohan Charan Majhi took oath on Wednesday as the new Chief Minister of Odisha, marking the first time the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has formed the government in the state.

The oath-taking ceremony was held at Janata Maidan in Bhubaneswar, attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and several high-profile leaders from the BJP and other states.

Majhi, a four-time MLA from Keonjhar, was elected leader of the BJP legislature party in Odisha on Tuesday and subsequently met with Governor Raghubar Das to stake his claim to form the government.

The ceremony saw the swearing-in of two Deputy Chief Ministers, Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida, eight ministers and five ministers of state (independent charge) also took oath of office today along with Majhi.

The event was attended by several dignitaries, including Union Ministers, Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states, and other prominent leaders.Majhi, a tribal leader from the Santali community, has promised to prioritize protecting Odisha’s ‘Asmita’ (pride) and has expressed his commitment to fulfilling the promises made in the BJP’s manifesto.

The BJP won 78 seats in the recent Odisha Assembly elections, marking a significant victory for the party. This is the first time the BJP has formed the government in Odisha, ending the 24-year reign of the Biju Janata Dal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com