• Wed. Jul 24th, 2024

NDA V/s INDIA: Lok Sabha Speaker will be decided through an Election

The Lok Sabha will elect its new Speaker on June 26, 2024. First time in the past three decades that there will be a contest for the Lok Sabha Speaker’s post

The ruling NDA bloc has nominated BJP MP Om Birla, while the opposition INDIA bloc has fielded Congress MP K Suresh.

The election is being held after the NDA refused to accept the Opposition’s demand that the Deputy Speaker’s position be left for them in exchange for support to the NDA nominee.

Earlier today, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi told reporters that the Opposition would support the government on Lok Sabha Speaker choice provided the Deputy Speaker’s post is given to them.


However, it was learnt that Congress and DMK representatives walked out of a meeting called by senior BJP MP and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, ruling out a consensual candidate for the post.

Despite the contest, the NDA is expected to win as it has 293 seats in the 543-member Lok Sabha compared to the INDIA bloc’s 234.

The key differences between Om Birla and K Suresh’s political careers are:

Om Birla is the BJP-led NDA’s candidate for Lok Sabha Speaker, seeking a second term in the role. He has been a member of the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly three times before being elected to the Lok Sabha.


K Suresh is the Congress-led INDIA bloc’s candidate for Lok Sabha Speaker. He is an eight-time Congress MP from Kerala  While Birla is from the ruling NDA coalition, Suresh represents the opposition INDIA alliance.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com