• Wed. Jun 19th, 2024

Assam: Voting for Guwahati Municipal Corporation Elections conclude today in the state capital!

The voting for Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) Elections have concluded today. No major incidents of violence have come in from the state capital so far. The civic elections are considered crucial for the city in Assam.

The GMC Elections had 80 polling stations to be run by only female polling officials. The total number of voters was 7,97,807.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 8071874c-5733-424b-b4a5-34114086e32f-1024x680.jpg

The voting was held from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm today. Candidates of Ward No. 5, 6 and 22 have been declared as winners, uncontested.

Meanwhile, the campaign for the civic has been a high-level one. Politicians from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Asom Jatiya Parishad (AJP), etc. had campaigned for their respective party candidate over the last couple of weeks.

The controversy over AAP MLA Atishi putting a broom over the traditional Assamese jaapi had grabbed headlines. Cabinet Minister Pijush Hazarika ha condemned the same. Later, AAP extended an apology through the media.

“Your vote can help build a safer, cleaner and world-class Guwahati. Urging all eligible voters, especially the first time voters, to exercise your democratic right in the GMC Elections.”, reads a tweet by Former CM and Union Cabinet Minster Sarbananda Sonowal today morning.

By NE India Broadcast

NE India Broadcast is a news and media platform, with focus on the Northeastern states comprising of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland, Tripura, Sikkim and Eastern Region West Bengal, Jharkhand, Odisha. You can email us at : neindiabroadcast2021@gmail.com or office@neindiabroadcast.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com