• Sat. Jul 13th, 2024


THE BEIGHTON CUP named after its donor the Late T D BEIGHTON, Legal Remembrance to the Government of West Bengal, is the oldest running Hockey Tournament in the world. This tournament is recognised as THE BLUE RIBAND of the Indian Hockey with the participation of the top hockey playing teams of the country.

The Beighton Cup was initially organised by The Indian Football Association, until the Bengal Hockey Association took over in 1905. Inaugurated in 1895, this tournament has nonstop run.

The Beighton Cup is now organised by Hockey Bengal (earlier BHA) was used to be held on natural grass at the Mohun Bagan, East Bengal, and Mohammedan Sporting ground at Kolkata Maidan until it has been made mandatory by Hockey India to hold all Class One Tournaments at Astro Turf ground. In his autobiography GOAL, the legendary Major Dhyanchand remembers his Beighton Cup debut. He says “In my opinion it is perhaps the best organised Hockey event in the country”. He further said “If anybody asked me which was the best match that I played in, I will unhesitatingly say that it was the 1933 Beighton Cup final between Calcutta Customs and Jhansi Heroes.” It may be mentioned that the Rani Rashmoni Smrity Samity donated Hockey Bengal a Gold cup in the year 1936 in memory of late RANI RASHMONI for presenting as running trophy to the Winner of Beighton Cup every year.

Source: Hockey Bengal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com