• Wed. Apr 17th, 2024


The Indian Coast Guard is fully geared up for response in the wake of likely formation of cyclone in Bay of Bengal as forecasted by Indian Meteorological Department (IMD). The recent weather forecast by IMD indicates formation of low pressure area over South Andaman Sea and adjoining area. The system is very likely intensify further into a depression over the southeast Bay of Bengal during next 12 hrs and further into cyclonic storm over East-central Bay of Bengal by 08 May 22. The system is likely to move west-northwestwards towards the northern coast of Andhra and south coast of Odisha by 10 May 22. Under its influence, heavy rain, squally winds and very rough sea conditions are likely to remain over Northwest Bay of Bengal and along the coast of West Bengal and Odisha.

The Indian Coast Guard has shared the weather information with state administration/ fisheries authorities of the state of West Bengal and Odisha. The fisheries authorities of West Bengal and Odisha have reported nil fishing boats at sea view the ongoing fishing ban on the east coast of India. Notwithstanding the fishing ban, Indian Coast Guard Stations located at West Bengal and Odisha in coordination with local fisheries authorities, are sensitizing the fishing community on persisting rough seas/inclement weather at sea and urging the fishermen to refrain from moving out to sea.

The Coast Guard vessels on patrol, aircraft on surveillance and Radar Operating Station at Paradip and Haldia are broadcasting weather warnings both in English and vernacular language on VHF radio to alert fishermen and mariners at sea. All Coast Guard establishments and ships in West Bengal and Odisha state have been alerted and directed to maintain highest state of preparedness to meet any contingency.

Fishermen and Mariners are being advised to call Coast Guard SAR (Search and Rescue) Emergency Toll-Free Number 1554 for any emergency/ assistance at sea.

NE India Broadcast

NE India Broadcast is a news and media platform, with focus on the Northeastern states comprising of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland, Tripura, Sikkim and Eastern Region West Bengal, Jharkhand, Odisha. You can email us at : neindiabroadcast2021@gmail.com or office@neindiabroadcast.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com