• Mon. May 27th, 2024

India Votes: First Phase of 2024 Lok Sabha Election Sets Stage for Democratic Battle

Voting kicked off across 21 states and Union territories in India, marking the beginning of the world’s largest democratic exercise – the Lok Sabha Election of 2024. With 102 Lok Sabha seats up for grabs, over 16.63 crore eligible voters were called upon to exercise their constitutional right.

In the early hours, prominent political figures, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and former Congress President Rahul Gandhi, urged citizens to participate actively in shaping the nation’s destiny. Their calls resonated as voters turned out in substantial numbers across various states.

From the bustling streets of West Bengal to the serene landscapes of Uttarakhand, citizens lined up to cast their votes, with an estimated voter turnout of  60.03% by 7 p.m., according to the Election Commission of India.

States like West Bengal, Assam, and Meghalaya witnessed particularly high turnouts, underscoring the enthusiasm and determination of the electorate. As polling stations buzzed with activity, political leaders set examples by casting their votes early.

Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma, Rashtriya Swyamsevak Sangh chief Mohan Bhagwat, Union Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal, Tripura Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha and Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami were among the prominent figures exercising their franchise.

Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Union Minister Kiren Rijiju exemplified the significance of grassroots democracy by voting in their native villages, emphasizing the importance of every citizen’s voice.

Photo: Union Minister Kiren Rijiju cast his vote in his native village Nafra in Arunachal Pradesh.

The election saw a diverse array of candidates vying for seats, including Union ministers, former chief ministers, and newcomers. Notable contenders included Nitin Gadkari, Sarbananda Sonowal, Gaurav Gogoi, and DMK’s Kanimozhi, among others. The battle lines were drawn, with the ruling NDA coalition seeking to maintain its dominance, while opposition parties eyed a resurgence.

Detailed State-wise Voter Turnout up to 7PM 

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands: 56.87% (1 constituency)
  2. Arunachal Pradesh: 64.07% (2 constituencies)
  3. Assam: 70.77% (5 constituencies)
  4. Bihar: 46.32% (4 constituencies)
  5. Chhattisgarh: 63.41% (1 constituency)
  6. Jammu and Kashmir: 65.08% (1 constituency)
  7. Lakshadweep: 59.02% (1 constituency)
  8. Madhya Pradesh: 63.25% (6 constituencies)
  9. Maharashtra: 54.85% (5 constituencies)
  10. Manipur: 68.62% (2 constituencies)
  11. Meghalaya: 69.91% (2 constituencies)
  12. Mizoram: 53.96% (1 constituency)
  13. Nagaland: 56.18% (1 constituency)
  14. Puducherry: 72.84% (1 constituency)
  15. Rajasthan: 50.27% (12 constituencies)
  16. Sikkim: 68.06% (1 constituency)
  17. Tamil Nadu: 62.08% (39 constituencies)
  18. Tripura: 76.10% (1 constituency)
  19. Uttar Pradesh: 57.54% (8 constituencies)
  20. Uttarakhand: 53.56% (5 constituencies)
  21. West Bengal: 77.57% (3 constituencies)


The Election Commission’s deployment of over 18 lakh polling personnel ensured the smooth conduct of elections across 1.87 lakh stations. Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar reiterated the significance of each vote, emphasizing its potential to sway critical contests. As the curtains fell on the first phase of polling, the stage was set for a riveting democratic showdown. With the fate of 102 constituencies hanging in the balance, the nation eagerly awaited the results, scheduled for June 4. The journey towards shaping India’s future had begun, with each vote poised to make a difference in the trajectory of the world’s largest democracy.







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com